Architecture alumni named to AIA College of Fellows | The Penn State Stuckeman School Skip to main content

Architecture alumni named to AIA College of Fellows

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – David Schrader and Jason Smith, both alumni of the Architecture program within the Stuckeman School at Penn State, were named to The American Institute of Architects (AIA) College of Fellows in recognition of their work and contributions to architecture and society.

Only 3% of AIA members are elevated as fellows, the organization’s highest honor.

Schrader (’90 B.S., ’91 B.Arch.) is the founding/managing partner of SCHRADERGROUP, a full-service architecture and engineering firm that focuses on academic, public safety, mission critical and athletic building design. Founded in 2004, the firm has expanded to include offices in Philadelphia, Lancaster, Baltimore and Raleigh.

A long-standing member of the Council of Educational Facility Planners International (CEFPI), Schrader has held a number of leadership positions with the organization and was the recipient of the 2009 CEFPI Northeast Region Planner of the Year Award.

Schrader is also the president of the Penn State Architecture Alumni Group.

Smith (’94 B.Arch.) is a partner at KieranTimberlake, an award-winning architecture firm recognized for its environmental ethos, research expertise and innovative design and planning. He has long fostered a comprehensive design culture and advanced an exemplary research mission at KT, which today invests in research staff and infrastructure devoted to improving the built environment.

Smith has led the design and construction of several award-winning projects, including Brockman Hall for Physics at Rice University and Pound Ridge House. His projects have been published in Architect, Architectural Record and Faith and Form, and have been awarded internationally, including two Architecture Honor Awards from the AIA.

Smith’s participation during the centennial of the Department of Architecture at Penn State in 2010 as a Kossman thesis juror led to the creation of an endowed scholarship fund for aspiring architects within the department.

AIA news release

Portrait of David Schrader
Portrait of Jason Smith