Penn State University

Arch Header Block
Department of Architecture


Corbelletti Design Competition

The charrette competition was created in memory of the late Raniero Corbelletti and his special graphic talent in the service of architecture. Professor Raniero Corbelletti served as professor and head of the Penn State department of architecture from 1968 to 1988. He brought to this university an intense commitment to architecture that was demonstrated by his wide range of educational and professional activities. His study at the Academy of Fine Arts and the Conservatory of Music in Bolzano, the Politecnico di Torino in his native Italy, as well as Pratt Institute and Columbia University led to a distinguished career as a teacher, practitioner, and administrator. As a teacher, his sensitivity, instinct for beauty, and an eye for talent served as an inspiration for students and faculty to pursue high standards of achievement. In practice he gained international recognition for his extraordinary drawing and rendering skills. As an administrator, his deft ability to mediate, negotiate, and resolve difficult and contending issues earned him roles of considerable responsibility. He was very personable, witty, serious, and possessed with a probing mind. This annual competition is dedicated in the remembrance of Raniero Corbelletti who was surely your advocate and friend and who would have loved to see your work.

The charrette will be held the first week of studio of the fall semester - seven days plus one weekend. The Corbelletti competition description and rules will be composed by the department head. Copies will be given to the studio coordinator to be distributed in studio. Since Professor Corbelletti was a superb draftsman, one of the main reasons for the competition is to encourage students to excel in hand drawing and rendering. While form Z and other digital tools are permissable means of communicating visual information, all competition participants are encouraged to respect the hand drawing component and avoid too much dependence on computer-generated graphics.

Participation is mandatory for all second-through-fifth year students in the department of architecture, and graduate students may participate but it is not required.

John Stewardson Memorial Scholarship in Architecture

Johns Stewardson (1858-1896) was endowed not only with high moral principle but vigorous character, a gift for friendship and the power to create confidence – qualities which made him an inspiring example to the young members of his profession.  His tragic death in a skating accident, closing a career of achievement notable for so short a life, at once moved many admirers to found this scholarship in his memory, an eloquent testimony to the place he had won in the regard of the community.

The Managing Committee of the John Stewardson Memorial Scholarship will issue a design program and select a jury of award.  The jury will be made up of prominent academicians and architects.  The jury of award will be held no later than March of the spring semester.

All fourth and fifth year students are required to participate. However, competition at the fourth-year level is internal to the department of architecture.  The participants shall undertake the solution of a design program during a ten-day period, the dates to be announced.  Participants shall not receive any help whatsoever from teachers, students or any other persons.

An internal jury within the architecture department will select a limited number of fifth-year entries to be forwarded for final review at the state level.  Each finalist shall expect to graduate from professional studies at an accredited collegiate school of architecture in the Çommonwealth of Pennsylvania leading to a degree in architecture the year of participation.  One winning project is awarded $6500.  The winner will pursue the study of architecture in a foreign county(s) as approved by the managing committee and is required to begin within one year of the award.  If the winner is not able to begin travel within one year of the award, the managing committee will award the prize to the designated runner-up.  He or she shall report experiences by one letter each month and by a summary report and presentation to be given at the awards dinner the following year.